Why an almond milk recipe on a gluten free site? Does cow's milk contain gluten? No, it doesn't. However, when you start a gluten free diet you may also find that you are lactose intolerant. and need to steer clear of cow's milk.
Many people are able to reintroduce cow's milk products back into their diet once their intestines are on the mend, but in the meantime and for those that can't tolerate it, there are alternatives.
Where I live, in the UK, it is easy enough to find rice or soy milk in the local supermarkets, but almond milk is a little more difficult to get hold off. When you can find it, the price is high, so I like to make my own.
Simple to make this almond milk recipe is also ideal if you need to follow a GFCF (gluten free casein free) diet to help with ADHD or autism.
It can be used in any situation where you would normally use cow's milk - in your hot drinks, in recipes or even as a refreshing drink, especially if you add some fresh fruit.