Gluten Free Ice Cream?
I read in a gluten free restaurant guide that Dairy Queen Heath Blizzard was safe to eat. After working for nine months across the street from DQ I treated myself to a Heath Blizzard 1-2 times a week. I had been on a very strict gluten free diet for over a year. I began having mild symptoms of Celiac disease about two months ago. I began to search for any hidden gluten I might have been eating, I even checked soft drinks, nothing had gluten in it. My symptoms kept getting worse day by day.
Yesterday I had a blizzard and became extremely ill so I contacted the local dairy cream to find out the ingredients of their ice cream.
Sure enough, their ice cream contained whey. So for nine months, gluten has been causing damage to my small intestine without my knowledge.
Now I have to treat my Celiac symptoms and let my stomach heal again.
I did locate an ice cream that as far as I can tell is gluten free. It is Bryers Natural Vanilla. The only ingredient that may be gluten is Tara gum.
I have not been able to locate a site that lists Tara gum as containing gluten. Has anyone heard or read if Tara gum contains gluten?